How to Get Started
1. Your child must be at least 7 years old. If they are under 7 you do not need to do anything to homeschool. North Carolina laws do not require a child to be schooled until the age of 7.
2. When the student becomes 7 years of age you will need to contact the NC Division of Nonpublic Education (NCDNPE) to inform them of your intent to homeschool. Choose your homeschool name carefully. It can't be easily changed.
It's simple to start homeschooling in North Carolina.
The 3 requirements are:
1. Click the link above to let them know your intent to homeschool.
2. Homeschool for 180 days out of the school year.
3. Give an end of grade test at the end of the school year. Tests are available online or THE Classes have tests you can use for free.
What about the Curriculum?
North Carolina does not require a specific curriculum for you to use. They allow you the freedom to use any curriculum you choose.
How do I choose a curriculum?
There are hundreds of choices out there and it can be overwhelming. The age of the child and the way you wish to teach can help narrow it down.
Do you want to do the teaching yourself or have them do classes online?
There are company’s that offer all online classes. Here are a few, but there are many more.
If you decide to teach your child yourself, here are a few websites where you can buy books.
and of course, Amazon
A place to look for a review of different curriculums